Whether you are a part-time blogger or a full-time blogger, you should produce content that has proven to work and will work.
If your content doesn’t get people’s attention, how can you expect that particular content will bring you more leads, long-term customers, and loyal readers?
In the first few months of my blogging career, I copied content. In those days Ezinearticles, GoArticles were very popular.
Also, I copied some content from other authority websites too.
No, any conversion. No single penny earned and No constant traffic increase. In fact, those days, my experience in blogging is Zero.
After some time, I practiced the ethical way to steal others’ traffic, directly and indirectly, steal content. In today’s post, I will guide you step-by-step on how to steal traffic from websites that have built a good reputation and receive tons of traffic every day.
Steal Web Traffic from Your Competitors Legally
- Steal Web Traffic from Your Competitors Legally
The process of spy traffic is very straightforward. It’s a three step process. They are,
- Find Your Real Competitors
- Analyze Competitors Keywords
- Write Content
These three parts have essential steps to make the process easier and give you the best results. So, let’s learn how to steal traffic from your competitor’s websites from step one!
Step #1: Find Your Real Competitors
If any business has more than two people involved, that means there is competition.
With over 900 million websites globally, you have to be smarter to identify your real competitors and find their strategies.
Without knowing your competitors, you can’t find their SEO strategies and keywords they use to drive buyers from search engines. So, let’s first find your competitors in as a Google’s point of view.
Method #1: Google’s web spider, Googlebot, regularly crawls and indexes new content from all websites as possible. After making an index of key components of web pages (such as titles, headlines, keywords, images, rich snippet data), Google stores the data on Google servers to serve data when someone enters a search query in the Google search box.
That’s why you see this process only takes a fraction of a second.
On the other hand, if you blocked search engine bots from crawling your web pages, they don’t get the eye of Google. So, here’s how to see your competitors with the eye of Google.
Step #2: Enter this search query into the Google search box and replace example.com with your domain. (If you have multiple subdomains, it’s better off to use a subdomain name. Ex: www.example.com)
In this example, I entered problogger.net to find its competitors.
As we expected, Google list copyblogger.com at the first spot. We all know that Problogger.net and CopyBlogger.com are two established blogs talking about blogging.
What Google does after you entered this query is that Google finds related domains to problogger.net that contain common keywords, common backlinks, etc.
It is the Google’s point of view.
Method #2: There are a few websites that reveal any website’s status, such as daily traffic volume, Google PageRank, demographic, geographic, top posts, backlinks data, and keywords.
Also, there are a few websites that can find competitors of your site. Similarweb.com is a web service that analyzes websites and gives a comprehensive report of traffic, social metrics, backlinks data, and keywords.
Here’s how to find out who your competitors are using an online website analyzer tool.
Step #1: Go to Similarweb.com and enter your website URL into the search box. Then click the ‘Search’ button to find the website’s stats.
Step #2: Scroll down the page till you find the similar sites section.
As you see, CopyBlogger, BasicBlogTips, and JohnChow are top related websites to Problogger.net as their similarity ratio. (Considering the same type of traffic each site receive)
Method #3: Like you use Google to find answers to your problems, a ‘similar website search engine’ finds related websites.
Here’s how to find real competitors of your blog.
Step #1: Go to similarsitesearch.com.
As you see, there are three ways to find out your competitors. They are,
- Search by URL: If you want to find competitors of a website, this is the best method to use.
- Search by URL + Keywords: If you want to find specific competitor webpages for your blog’s search query, this option is pretty useful. Ex: pitiya.com Grammarly review (find web pages related to Grammarly review similar to problogtricks.com content)
- Search by Keywords: If you want to know competitors who are also talking about a particular topic, this option will be helpful. Ex: digital marketing consultation (find websites that offer digital marketing consultation services).
Step #2: As you want to find competitors for a particular URL, type your website address into the search box and press the “Enter” button.
Step #3: Now, you will see a complete competitor websites report. JohnChow.com and Bloggingtips.com are at the top of the list. You can filter the search result by turning on/off each category.
Now you have identified your real competitor. Let’s move to the next point: spy competitor’s traffic and keywords reports.
Step #2: Analyze Organic Keywords
The foundation of a successful content marketing campaign starts with proper marketing research. Marketing research is identical to identifying your potential reader.
To identify your potential readers, you have to find what they are searching for on search engines. As a content marketer, your aim should be to drive highly targeted traffic from search engines to your relevant content.
To find keywords that your competitors will use, you have to use a proper keyword research strategy.
In Step #1, you identified your real opponent. The next step should be finding their top organic keywords. You can follow two methods to determine what keywords competitors are using. They are,
- Ask competitor website owners to show their keyword reports.
- Use an SEO spy tool to find keywords.
The first method probably won’t work, right? Do you like to give permission someone to check your traffic, keyword reports? No. Right?
So, without debate, the second option could be more legal and efficient.
How to find out your competitors keywords
To find your competitor’s keywords, you have to get the help of an SEO Spy tool. The tool I use regularly and recommend to everyone is Semrush.
Semrush is a search engine marketing tool that provides various search engine marketers such as PPC Advertisers and SEOs. To learn more about this Search Engine Marketing tool, read my honest Semrush review here.
Here’s how to find out keywords of competitors using Semrush tool.
Step #1: Go to Semrush.com and create your Free account.
Step #2: After logging into your account, type your competitor’s address into the search box. As I found “CopyBlogger.com” on a few occasions, I will enter copyblogger.com into the search box.
Step #3: Within a few seconds, you will see the Semrush overview report for your competitor website. Here’s the summary report of Copyblogger.
In this report, you can find the daily organic traffic from the Google.com search engines other relevant statistics such as organic traffic growth over time, total backlinks, and organic keyword distribution. Below this main report, you can find the top keywords that CopyBlogger’s web pages are ranking for on Google.com.
Semrush have divided organic keywords into two sections. They are,
- Top Keywords: Order keywords according to traffic share.
- Keyword Position Distribution: Order keywords as their placement on SERPs.
To find the organic keywords, I will select the first option. Here are a few organic keywords that drive traffic to Copyblogger.
This report can find the keyword Google Adwords CPC for the keyword, monthly local search volume, landing page URL, and traffic share. CopyBlogger receives approximately 2216 daily visitors from Google.com alone for the “content” keyword. (2216 = 37,000 x 5.99/100)
Step #4: Ranking for keywords such as content marketing, email marketing, internet marketing, and press releases is difficult. But, the hidden gems of long-tail keywords with high search volume might be at the end of the keywords list.
So, here’s how to find informational long-tail keywords that are easy to rank. At the top of the organic keywords report, you can find a tool to filter keywords.
Add any relative clause word such as how, what, who, which, when, why as shown the screenshot below.
After making the necessary changes, click on the “Apply” button. Here are a few “How-to” keywords with high monthly search volumes.
If you need to find profitable long-tail keyword variations, you can add this filter settings to your search.
Here are the long-tail keywords that bring high targeted visitors customers!
If you build a niche website and monetize it through a CPC advertising program such as Google Adsense, these keywords will be helpful to increase earnings. If you want to find keywords of a single blog post, you can add its URL to generate keywords within the top 20 results.
And by exporting keywords, you can explore more long tail keyword variations too.
I am currently using a Semrush Pro account. So I can export more than 10,000 keywords at once, and 3000 reports a day. That is a lot of keywords!
If you want to test Semrush Pro account features and save $119.95, you can create your free Semrush Pro account by clicking this link. Learn how to upgrade from Semrush free account to a Pro account by reading these instructions.
Step #3: Write content
As you found your competitors’ keywords, the NEXT step is to write a thorough and informative blog post using those keywords. But, before writing articles, you might find the keyword difficulty scores of keywords.
Step #1: Go to Semrush Keyword Difficulty Checker and enter your keyword(s). Then click on the “Show Difficulty” button.
Step #2: Here are the difficulty scores of keyword phrases.
After doing some searches, I was able to find some low-competitive keywords. As you see, many of them are new blog post ideas.
Adding low-competitive keywords into blog posts helps in ranking higher on SERPs quicker. Otherwise, It would take months to rank for competitive keywords even if you find them from a low-authoritative site.
As you found the keywords and their difficulties, the next duty is to write content mixing those competitors’ keywords. Here are a few tips for writing a new blog post to satisfy both readers and search engines.
#1: User Experience (UX) Matters A Lot
The future of SEO is based on User Experience. The days are gone where more backlinks guaranteed higher rankings on SERPs. If you can especially satisfy people, so you can expect more love from Google too!
Google uses different factors to rank websites on Google. Core Web Vitals, including website loading time, user experience, content accuracy & relevancy, grammar, are some of them.
Before writing your article, make sure fonts, colors, and text-indent are in the right form and content is accessible to everyone in the world. In reality, mobile visitors don’t wait more than 10 seconds till your web pages loading.
Also, your paragraphs should not exceed more than three sentences, and each sentence should be short and shouldn’t make readers use vocabulary books to know the meanings of complicated words.
#2: Use Heading and text formatting
The best way to get people to read your articles is by adding headlines and highlighting important words within the content. Readers should be able to skim your content and grasp the key points of your blog post.
Before writing an article, structuring the main concepts is very helpful. It helps readers understand the core message of your post and makes it easier for you to organize content.
From H tags to blockquotes and from bolding to text-indenting, there are many ways to beautify your content.
#3: Use Visual Content
There is a cliche that “a picture is worth thousands of words.” It is 100% right! From stock photographs to screenshots and from device mockups to infographics, there are lots of visual properties you can make use of to decorate your landing pages.
And don’t forget that you can also use Videos, SlideShare presentations, and Podcasts within your content. They all add up. Diversify your blog post and make it more special from other regular blog posts that only contain text.
Use these tools to make visual content to your blog articles:
- Crello — Design beautiful graphics, including infographics, animated images (GIF), charts & tables, and more.
- Offeo — Make agency-style animated videos online.
- Stencil — Create custom picture quotes, graphics, and more. It is a very simple tool, but I find it’s very useful. Read this review of Stencil to find out how to use it properly.
#4: Proper grammar
As a blogger, you should practice major grammatical rules. After proofreading your blog post, ask these questions yourself.
- Have I used any passive voice sentences? If used, can’t I turn it into the active voice?
- Does my article have punctuation errors?
- Can a five-grade student read my content?
- Weird words without explanation? (Ex: SERPs = Search Engine Result Page(s), UX = User Experience)
- Complex, ambiguous words?
- Can my content interpret easily? (Can someone spread out about your piece of content easily)
Also, you should ask yourself that if your content is for b2c, can my readers read the content from start to end without a break? If no one can read your content, there is no purpose in writing articles.
If you write articles for a b2b audience especially, you will add some notes and statistics. To prove that the information is correct and from a reliable source, you should add relevant links to referenced places.
If you mentioned in your blog post that a person had said something on a YouTube video, you should link out to the video.
Trusted data increases the authority of your writing and increases the search engine rankings of your blog posts. Just look at how I have linked out to relevant sources when necessary in this post.
In fact, Google increases the rank of websites that link out to relevant references and sources. I published an article on Motivational Network Marketing Quotes a few weeks ago. I copied all of the quotes from other websites. To provide the courtesy to them, I linked out to all those references at the end of the quotes.
#6: It’s all about the title
The title could probably be the number #1 on-page ranking factor. According to CopyBlogger, 8 out of 10 people read the title first and decide later to read the article. Only 2 out of 10 read the article from start to finish.
In fact, I increased my blog traffic by increasing the Click-through rate of some of my blog posts.
It is better off jotting down a few titles before writing your article. Only for this article, I have already created 10+ slightly different titles. I will test each one of them to find the most effective title that will grab the attention of search visitors and social media influencers.
If you know how SEO and content marketing work, improving website traffic is not hard. These days, content theft is a big reason that causes to penalize many websites. (duplicate content penalty)
For driving traffic to your website, the best way I recommend is to spy traffic and keywords stats of your competitors. After identifying your real competitors and finding their top organic keywords, creating a high-quality article that gets the attention of even your competitor is the guaranteed way to drive targeted traffic that converts.
I am using this “website traffic spy” method for a few months. I am stunned by how those posts performed within the first few months. So, when do you use this technique to spy and steal website traffic from your competitors?